Jiu Jitsu and Chasing the Double Dragon.

Tonight was my first Jiu Jitsu class. After a gruelling but awesome boxing class at lunch left me still trembling at home time I was a little nervous, but actually I kept up well on the warm up without real difficulty.

This was Japanese Jiu Jitsu which I think ‘m right in saying is less well known these days but has been around longer than the Brazilian version made famous by the Gracie family at UFC. It’s also where Judo has it’s roots. We know I love Judo. I love Judo enough that I already had a Gi for Jiu Jitsu, which was handy.

We also know by now that I hate when people go ‘oh there is a girl in the class, don’t play rough’. It’s a violent sport, I wouldn’t be there if I wasn’t prepared for that. Well these guys did none of that. Even Chris who I work with, cheerfully bitch slapped me in the face, strangled me, pulled my ears and threw me on the ground at various points. This is not a sport. All the examples referred to, ‘you wanna do it this way so if the guys mates turn up you aren’t at a disadvantage’. This is a proper martial art, it’s only purpose to maim and kill. I love it. It’s the most amazing high and I want to do everyday, on top of my other classes. Sadly not possible.

Have a raved enough? Do I sound completely nuts? I think the words ‘it’s brutal’ and ‘I fucking love it’, answered the ‘did you enjoy it’ I got asked on the way out. So there we have it. I am forever chasing martial arts highs but I think i’ve just found my cocaine!

About Aunty Fox

'Fox Spirit is the crazy young aunt who dances in the rain and conjures fantastic worlds out of cardboard boxes, loo rolls and sellotape'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Jiu Jitsu and Chasing the Double Dragon.

  1. Alasdair says:

    AWESOME. Between this, Judo, Kickboxing and boxing you will be inWINCIBLE!

  2. Adele says:

    That or utterly broken. Test to destruction sweetp. πŸ™‚
    (also wrestling and boxing)
    I am amazed at how quickly my body recovers now though.

  3. Marguerite Kenner says:

    Okay, fork over the secret of never having to sleep you have OBVIOUSLY discovered and share with the rest of us… who write comments on your blog. πŸ˜€

  4. Adele says:

    mwahahahaha. I sleep, mostly with my eyes open and my desk. ;p

Leave a Reply

