Jiu Jitsu and I am the Dragon!

I was cold yesterday. All day and when I got home in the evening too. I feel the cold
now, Vibs (friend, Dr) thinks it’s just because I’ve lost a lot of weight quickly and my
body needs time to adjust, which it will get when I reach target…maybe.

The side effect of being so cold was that it became a real effort to drag myself out to
jiu jitsu. Added to the fact that of everything I do JJ is the one that scares me a little,
it’s hard and brutal and it hurts.. a lot sometimes. I love it. It’s a huge rush, nearly two
hours feels like 20 mins and although I don’t drive faster I do drive more aggressively
and I do swear rather more on the way home. It’s intense and I knew I’d regret not
going, so out into the cold I went.

This week we did the first three arm locks and a couple of wrist locks, I’m getting
better. Finally getting the wrist locks on properly. By the end of the class Dennis and I
were having to take a deep breath and steel ourselves for the oncoming ouchies before
throwing the punch. I may have squeaked at one point, not dignified, totally justified.
Overall I feel as though I’m progressing, getting the idea of the movements more and
getting my locks on better, also where you finish up kneeling on someone, kicking
them in the head then pulling them around a bit just to make sure you leave them
curled up on the ground coughing up blood? I like that. Obvs we don’t actually make
each other bleed as a rule, but you can see where the moves are going.

The really exciting thing is that we’ve been invited to take part in an MMA
tournament, ring not cage, but still. Sadly it’s at the end of the month, so no notice
and with gradings coming up (not for me, grades are hard earned here and I’m only
three weeks in) we may not be sending anyone, but several of us are interested
(yes I basically bounced around going mememememememe but next time, but
mememememememe) so if this one goes well (pleasepleasepleasepleaseplease) then
next time I am totally going and having me a full contact MMA fight. So, need to get
my gum shield and shin guards and MMA gloves and stuff.

The other really lovely thing is that when I was letting Sensei Nish know I’m not
there next week, am interested in MMA and lovelovelove the class and he said I train
well and really get stuck in. See, that made me happy. I’m easily pleased.

It’s interesting, these classes, none of it comes naturally, I’m not light on my feet
in kickboxing, my coordination and memory for movement flow are terrible and I
spend so much time in Judo trying to remember that biting isn’t allowed I never see
another way out of a hold. I love it though, I love the sweat and pain of it, I love the
aggression, the ferocity and the calm control, I love the balance of cool purpose and
really letting rip into the pads. Martial Arts for the win.

About Aunty Fox

'Fox Spirit is the crazy young aunt who dances in the rain and conjures fantastic worlds out of cardboard boxes, loo rolls and sellotape'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Jiu Jitsu and I am the Dragon!

  1. Chris says:

    Hooray! Don’t know why it took me so long to find you back writing again, but glad you are – you’re forcing me to stop procrastinating and just write, ferchrissakes!

    It’s awesome that you’re taking control and diving head first into so many of your passions. Keep it up and know that across the pond in the land of heathens you always have someone rooting for you and ready to support if the need eery arises.

  2. Adele says:

    Thanks hun, i’ve only been at it a couple of weeks, didn’t say anything till I started to get back into my stride. And yes, Write damn you!!
    And thanks you. 🙂

  3. When your MMA fight hits? Yeah, you are going to kick ASS. Stick with it, hon:)

  4. Adele says:

    ha, first MMA bound to get my butt kicked, don’t care.

  5. Dana says:

    You’re definitely feeling the cold more because of the weight loss. I’ve lost 10 pounds relatively quickly and feel like a polar bear that’s lost her layer of insulating fur and fat!

    So proud of you for the martial arts! And for trying to remember not to bite. 🙂

  6. Rocketstar says:

    Hey Adele, so what is your favorite JJ move/hold? I love watching MMA and love the JJ fighters. I love the triangle.

  7. Adele says:

    Dana thanks hun and yay for your rocking the warrior princess bod!!

    Rocket, i’m only a few weeks in so a little early for a fave. They all hurt which is what really matters. ;p

Leave a Reply

