Kickboxing, a headache & chivalry is alive in Leicester

pretty pretty boots

So yesterday was hell. I had an evil tension headache, spent most of the day in bed and the rest of it napping on the sofa. If you want to read into the fact that the headache started on Sunday oh a couple of hours before M came by to drop off his house key, well you’d have a point. Last time I crashed like that was a few days after he moved out, it’s entirely stress related and completely crippling. Missed the gym, work and Judo. Gutted. Well not about work so much. ;p

Today my head was still a little tender but I figured fuck it and headed in. Had a fantastic gym session, ran 15mins and 2km on the treadmill, which is the longest and furthest i’ve achieved. Am proud of myself for that.

At lunchtime I decided a little destress retail therapy was called for and bought two pairs of gorgeous heels in the sale at Tin Fish (best shoe shop ever) and grabbed a box of protien

frivolous red shoes

bars while i was in the area. My MMA shorts arrived today too, they aren’t designed for women, so although they go on, I have a little way to go before I fit them comfortably, still, no rush to wear them and it’s nice to have things to go down into.

Then on the walk back to my car, mile and a half, in heels, carrying huge gym bag, handbag (not small) and shopping (shoes, glorious shoes) a young man (between 21-35 but really who the hell can tell?) passed me, then slowed down and looked back a couple of times. Just as I was starting to think, ok dude, you are wigging me out, do i need to reshuffle the luggage so my right cross is free he called out. He actually asked if I needed help with my bags! Seriously, made my day! So thank you dude in sports gear for offering. I declined but thanked him, was a kind offer. So chivalry lives on in the most unlikely places.

Kickboxing this week was ace although Jamie and Nick ganged up on me, Nick encouraging Jamie to just hit me coz I can take it. Don’t know whether to be pleased or pissed off. Did take a smartish blow to an unprotected face, but no blood no problem. They both (along with Vince) seem to think I have a particularly worrying facial expression at times. He then accused me of jabbing like a girl with my left, which was just offensive and had to be put right. I love this sport. Am thinking of upping to the unlimited training and trying to get three classes a week in. Means dropping wrestling, but worth it, I don’t feel the same about just looking as though you are hurting someone.

and finally because I love this track

About Aunty Fox

'Fox Spirit is the crazy young aunt who dances in the rain and conjures fantastic worlds out of cardboard boxes, loo rolls and sellotape'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Kickboxing, a headache & chivalry is alive in Leicester

  1. Marguerite Kenner says:

    *Squeees at the shoes* Oh those boots, those GLORIOUS boots! I’m officially jealous. I’m going to a steampunk convention weekend after next and I have NOTHING that cool to wear.

    As for the reds, I’ve got my eye on a pair as well – ones I could DANCE in. What do you think?

    http://www.zappos.com/ros-hommerson-charo-red-kid-patent

  2. Adele says:

    ooh those a purrty, want! Definitely dancing shoes. x

  3. Alasdair says:

    I too like the boots but suspect they’re not quite my style;). Nice to see chivalry alive and well and also your willingness to deck a punk if called on to do so:). Don’t start nothin’, won’t be nothin’ like the man said:)

  4. mrwriteon says:

    I absolutely love those boots. Of course they’d look much better with you in them.

  5. Adele says:

    Al – no, not really you, but I shall sport them when I see you so you can admire them. And yes, punk decking definitely doable, even laden as I was.
    Ian – everything does sweetp. ;p

Leave a Reply

