Schedule Changes

So I have decided on my new training programme. Here it is.

Mon – Thurs am Cardio & Weights
Friday am – Swimming

Monday evening Judo & Kickboxing (the timings work beautifully and the classes are across the road)
Tuesday Evening Kickboxing – if the class structure change this will go from 1 hour to 2 -3
Wednesday evening alternate weeks Kickboxing, this is specifically training for gradings so should be great for my technique, but weds is also officially the night Paul the Goth is allowed to book me for movies.
Thursday Evening Jiu Jitsu
Friday Evening sofa, good book, sleeping cat. (not a new kind of kung fu though it perhaps should be)

Saturday – for now continues to be a day off though I want to get into the sparring training so we shall see, I may have to ditch swimming on a Friday and have that as my day off in due course

Sunday – Kickboxing
Sunday’s were wrestling, but it was £10 a session, 4 hours so wiped out the whole day and although very enjoyable not as satisfying as the others and won’t contribute (being pro rather than olympic) much to my eventual aim to do an MMA cage fight.

So there we go i’m looking at 3-4hours a week of kickboxing so should start to progress much quicker, 1 hour of Judo, which will be important in MMA for ground work and escapes/reversals and 2 hours a week of Jiu Jitsu (it’s a longer class) which is certainly teaching me to deal with pain.
I’m spending between 45 – 60 minutes in the gym everyday now instead of the 30 I used to spend and depending on what time I arrived slip in a short swim to cool down and stretch after. My boss (at work who is also my Jitsu Sensei’s Sensei) is going to teach me to use the free weights properly to compliment my martial arts and of course I still walk 3 miles every work day weighted down with bags.

In April I have a week off work and am spending one day white water rafting, I plan to  make the most of my unlimited training at PKA for some of the other days and also maybe visit some people and do some relaxing stuff.

I know one or two people have commented i’m doing too much, but seriously, my body loves me now, after years of us not getting on. I feel so much better when I am working out and pushing myself and my recovery rates are really excellent. I get sore muscles occasionally, but rarely delayed onset, usually just tired and worked and better by morning.

Since July I have gone from walking at 5.5km/hr on the treadmill for ten minutes, to running at 7.8km/hr for 15mins and still having the energy to do intervals, cross trainer and bike after that. When the race for life rolls around this July it will be exactly a year since I started all this craziness and i’m excited about it as a measure of how far i’ve come and how much i’ve changed.

My weight loss has slowed, it’s a side effect, i’ve upped my training and am definitely gaining a little muscle and definition, getting much stronger and actually i’m still shrinking but the pounds aren’t showing as off so easily. Upping my exercise has meant I need to eat a little more as well, can’t work out and then starve myself, see not totally nuts. ;p

But it’s slowed a little, not stopped and the inches will continue to go and my body change faster than the weight comes off. So I still reckon when I see you all at the events this year I will have my tattoo.

Right that’s it from me for now. I have coffee to make and lounging to do.

About Aunty Fox

'Fox Spirit is the crazy young aunt who dances in the rain and conjures fantastic worlds out of cardboard boxes, loo rolls and sellotape'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Schedule Changes

  1. Stray Taoist says:

    If I didn’t have family commitments, I would be out training every night. I don’t think it is overdoing it at all. There will come the point where it will so much harder, and you have to put more effort in to even get close to what younger ones do (or you can do at the minute. You being a bit younger than me. I wish I had had the opportunity to do this while groing up. Consequence of rural Ireland in the 70s. Martial arts weren’t big.)

    As for the tattoo, I get my next one when I get my black belt, being a seekrit rite for NinjaKlub.

    You, errr, go girl *snaps fingers to left of him, sweeps are down, snaps fingers at right*

  2. Adele says:

    That’s the thing really isn’t it, while i’m on my own I need to make the most of it and train as hard as a I can, then when I eventually have a family or steady partner demanding my time and have to pull back, at least i’ve had this time. Of course I am cursing not starting years ago, but such is life and i’m happy now. 🙂

    And yes, I can see access could be tricky in rural Ireland even now.

    Tattoo is my reward when I hit weightloss target, first one, text between the shoulders and it is a sort of victory dance and a reminder of wasted time. 🙂

    Hope all is well with your guys.

  3. Stray Taoist says:

    On the subject of tattoos, it took me a decade to decide on the design of my first.

    http://9gag.com/gag/7770/ (I am in the green zone, next will be on the back shoulder, as well as black-belt-gaining on on right arm.)

    Even when you do change solo-circumstances, it is hard to switch. I train four times a week, and things never happen on those days, but the times aren’t so bad. My thing now is I said I would do a different discipline (as well) when (and if) I do get my black belt, but time is ever the issue.

    Weight loss was never my main objective (although I have lost steadily, if not much, but downward trend) over the past three and a half years. However, I am fitter, stronger, have more stamina, and eventually the belly will go. I guess I would need to do what you do, and go to the gym and stuff, but meh, back to time. Don’t get hung up on it, all the same. I know you aren’t, but the main things are feeling better.

  4. Adele says:

    *hugs* I do feel a lot better, but I was over 20st weight loss was the starting point, all the rest has got me hooked on this as a lifestyle. 🙂

    Yeah, been thinking about a tatt for about 15years, finally read the right thing and the right time and it was just, yes that! 🙂

  5. Rocketstar says:

    You must be getting just ripped with all of this exercise and full body MMA workout stuff. Nice.

  6. Adele says:

    lol, i have a couple fo stone in fat left to lose but i can feel the muscle underneath it, so i reckon by the time that goes yeah, i should be pretty buff. ;p

  7. Andrew says:

    Good to read everything is coming along swimmingly. It’s a hell of a schedule, but if you’ve got time for it I say go for it. Before I met Lisa I was training six days a week, alternating between the gym and the local climbing wall – rather than building in specific rest days I just listened to what my body was telling me* and took rest when appropriate.

    From time to time I muse about doing martial arts again but I doubt it. Maybe it was just a lack of emotional maturity, but it always felt like I was struggling to keep a lid on the mile-wide nasty streak that was simmering inside me when I trained. I worked my ass off hoping to get some glimpse of the zen-like peace most practitioners attest to finding at the heart of their chosen discipline, but never quite managed it.

    So, I bake cakes. Nice cakes. No zen, but plenty of icing.

    *mostly it was telling me that I needed to keep working my way through the beer list at my local Bierhalle, but that’s a different story.

  8. Adele says:

    Hey, I bake, baking is very very zen.

Leave a Reply

