Kickboxing, Slam Poetry and What no Lodger?

Rob Gee

Tuesday’s kickboxing was good as always and I finished it off by ordering my shin guards and kickboots and asking my coach whether I could join the Saturday sessions. Saturday is when they train with the fight squad, more contact and a hard session, this is where you need your gum shield and a headguard. No pads, it’s not realistic for fight drills. I am nervous and excited about this weekend and Danny seemed unsurprised that I wanted to take this step. I will of course let you know how it goes. I’ve fitted my gumshield, which may still have been too hot when I popped it in my mouth as I bled in it, but there aren’t too many nerves in the gums so it didn’t hurt.

 

Last night being Wednesday was my class free night (largely), so I headed out with Paul

nest of ripcords

the Goth to see Rob Gee perform. Rob is a Leicester local who was a psychiatric nurse and is now a performance poet, stand up comic of sorts and all round nice guy. It was very entertaining, he does an energetic performance, mixing the poetry with amusing anecdotes, and occasionally stopping mid flow for an aside. I’m not a huge fan of modern poetry, live or otherwise, my shelves are still stacked with long dead poets, but Rob Gee and Helen Burke (York based performance poet) bring such humour and warmth and energy to their performance’s they are, between them, keeping me open to the possibilities and stopping me from retreating completely back to Coleridge and Yeats.

My ripcords, new gloves (cross training gloves, for weight lifting and stuff) and pull up bar all arrived today which was uber awesome!! And my advert for a lodger went in, correctly today but no calls yet. I am a bit worried, i’ve no idea how long these things take but I carefully took tonight off Jiu Jitsu in order to be able to take calls.

Yeah I went for pink gloves, and my gum shield is baby pink. Everything else is a nice aggressive black or red though.

 

Finally, this made my day last night, and all of today. I’ve been acting as first
reader/cheerleader for Savile for a little while now. I am not a critical reader, but I love getting to read as the book develops and goes back and changes, I love seeing the process. I have no aspiration to write, but something like this gives me major warm fuzzies. It’s in the front of Black Chalice. So Thanks Steve, this was incredibly sweet and i’m sorry I then went and changed my surname back. 😉

About Aunty Fox

'Fox Spirit is the crazy young aunt who dances in the rain and conjures fantastic worlds out of cardboard boxes, loo rolls and sellotape'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kickboxing, Slam Poetry and What no Lodger?

  1. Marguerite Kenner says:

    Pink gym gear all the way! The gloves look awesome!

  2. Adele says:

    lol, nah, just a little pink. My theory on the gumshield is that baby pink covered in blod is far more terrifying than red or black. ;p
    Couldn’t resist the girly gloves though.

Leave a Reply

