Blue Muffins

pale blue muffin

I love to bake. It’s therapy. There is nothing like playing with ingredients, mixing with your hands till you have soft pliable cookie dough or sludgy cake batter. I work from recipes and then adapt, don’t have buttermilk? In with a tin of condensed, it’ll be fine. It usually is.

Yesterday I was in the mood for fun so in addition to a little strawberry flavour and white chocolate chips I added blue food colouring. I didn’t go for a dark rich blue, you can do that with icing but in dough it can alter the flavour. Regardless I now have delicious blue muffins, with just enough strawberry flavour to make me crave slush puppies.

 

About Aunty Fox

'Fox Spirit is the crazy young aunt who dances in the rain and conjures fantastic worlds out of cardboard boxes, loo rolls and sellotape'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blue Muffins

  1. mrwriteon says:

    I agree about the therapeutic aspects of baking, kneading, etc. though I love my bread machine because it does everything and I only need to get inventive with the recipes, and I do.

  2. Adele says:

    lol, i can see that. Baking is bad enough but I am so weak for bread I would pile weight on.

Leave a Reply

