It’s hard to talk in a gumshield.

Well it is. Lots more sparring today. My partner on Saturday’s is Georgia, who has done ballet, so I get kicked in the head a lot. This morning she caught me right across my nose with a kick, it still hurts but hasn’t visibly bruised. Of course she punched me in the face a few times, kicked me round the back of the head and generally knocked me about. I managed to sneak a couple of good kicks in and held my own on punching. I’m learning a lot. I’m also wondering how long it will be before I get my nose broken. Not very at this rate.

Anyway I am entering the PKA nationals in the women’s light continuous (points is a different style of fighting i am not very familiar with) low grades. I will be up against up to green belts, I have no idea how a tournament works and will no doubts spend much of the day thoroughly confused. Still at least I will have my whole face protected so my nose should survive. I think that’s why it was suggested as a place to start.

I’m dropping Jiu Jitsu for the time being. It’s a shame because I do enjoy it, but if I am going to compete in kickboxing I need to focus on that and JJ clashes with adult sparring. I am continuing Judo (although mum has made it clear that heading to the party in May with visible bruises will not be popular)  and hope to resume Jiu Jitsu next year. For now though, I am going to work on being better at KB.

About Aunty Fox

'Fox Spirit is the crazy young aunt who dances in the rain and conjures fantastic worlds out of cardboard boxes, loo rolls and sellotape'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s hard to talk in a gumshield.

  1. choochoo says:

    Ballet, huh? Does that mean you’re getting kicked in the face by a stick-thing girl who twirls? If you were a guy, I could totally bully you loads with that. Too bad you’re not a guy. Ever considered a sex-change?

  2. Adele says:

    hah, she’s about 15, my height, stick thin, super fast, kicks high and hard and is several grades above me.

Leave a Reply

