Single White Female

I’m not sure when Vince suggested I friend his mum on facebook (baking, books) he quite anticipated our moving from the odd email on FB, to talking when I visited Leeds, to weekly calls to chat and catch up and occasionally extra calls to cheer each other up with both his parents. Is there a lolcat for ‘Iz on the phone stealin yur parents’? *grin* Ah well, he’s got a book deal now and that should keep him too busy to worry about it. ;p

In the mean time a number of people who have never had to live with me suggested I might do better with a female lodger. *ahem* The people who have lived with me will know exactly why I am not going to actively be seeking a female lodger. Sharing my space, as Nikki pointed out, has always been a high compromise, low reward scenario for me, so it is going to be hard to fine the right person. Week days only is essential, guys you aren’t dating tend to be easier than girls so that’s a preference. In the mean time, only 11 more days till Martin moves out. Hooray.

I’ll be heading off in a bit to see the Wizard for my extra appointment, so will spend the afternoon at work feeling and looking slightly stoned, not a bad thing since it makes report writing almost bearable. Then tomorrow an exciting meeting in less than exciting Milton Keynes.

Tonight I have a double session of kickboxing. First is the ladies only. I go to this simply because it’s an extra class I can make now I have dropped Jiu Jitsu, and preceeds Adult Sparring. I consider it and extensive warm up for the intense 45min sparring session that comes next and the beating I will take. God i love sparring. I have taken to wearing sleeveless tops in part so I can admire my bruises. It’s a little twisted, but I earned them and i’m proud of them. The pain rarely bothers me, if it does I remind myself I grew up on a farm, with livestock. I’ve been kicked, stepped on, bitten and bashed by horses, i’ve fallen off and been winded more times than I can count, i’ve been dragged down a freshly cleared hay field and burnt my whole back, pulled rusty nails out of my foot and all sorts of other minor but painful injuries. Yeah it was years ago, but I don’t get to be a wuss about a kick in the nose now, not after all of that.

So why I love sparring, other than the pain, it’s exciting. Saturday during squad training we
had to spar in our pairs in front of the whole class. First time for me and initially it felt like school *shudder*. Once we started though, everything else dropped away, it was me and Georgia with her mad high kicks, trading blows and moving around each other. I got in one really good round house to her gut and a few punches, she caught me round the head a few times, usual stuff for us. I was focussed and happy, grinning through my gumshield and utterly unaware of the scrutiny of the class. It’s actually reassured me a lot that in the upcoming tournament I won’t lose concentration because there are spectators. Turned out to be a really good thing. It also allowed Danny to spot my habit of leaning forward and correct me.

My aim for May 14th, as Laura put it, ‘hit them till (I) win’ or as Sharon put it ‘Beat their faces off’. Either way my main aim is not to suffer a humiliating defeat. I am nervous. Not about the fight in terms of fighting, but it’s not just me is it, my performance in a tournament reflects on my training. I have to trust that Danny would ave put me off if he didn’t think I could do it, but if I don’t put up a decent fight, get a few clean strikes in, kill maim destroy, then I am undoubtedly going to feel i’ve let my coaches and the other fighters down. That’s it then, right now nothing is more important than being the best fighter I can be and kicking.. well gut because shots have to be above the belt and I only have one head shot I can deliver by foot.

About Aunty Fox

'Fox Spirit is the crazy young aunt who dances in the rain and conjures fantastic worlds out of cardboard boxes, loo rolls and sellotape'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Single White Female

  1. Hope the Wizard makes you feel better hun! xx

  2. Adele says:

    He always does. That’s why he is a Wizard. 🙂

  3. Marguerite says:

    “I only have one head shot I can deliver by foot.” *scoff* That’s a bit like saying “I can only take out one mugger at a time”. YOU CAN KICK A PERSON IN THE HEAD! YOU ARE HARD CORE!

  4. Adele says:

    lmao. Yeah ok, but what if my opponent is like Georgia and can deliver any kick to head height? Hmmm? ;p

Leave a Reply

