Adele Wearing aime….

yeah, i’m re-watching Amelie, one of the strangest and most charming films i’ve ever come across. I like Amelie’s approach to life, her small pleasures and her imagination.

I thought, given the recent downturn in mood, much improved today btw, I would share some likes, some small pleasures of my own.

So aside from movies full of whimsy where nothing much happens, like Amelie and My Neighbour Totoro, I like…

Baking easter cookies, I quite like eating them but baking is the point. Face it, i’m happy baking any cookies or shortbread, or, when I have the right company, Mousecake. I like to bake, it soothes me and produces something good and yummy at the end. I especially like when there are people around to share it all with.

I like a book I don’t want to put down, something that pulls me back in every time. Something I can re read and still find something new, every time.

I like the smell of cut grass and real creasote, the old kind, I like cheese with chilli’s in it, I like hot chocolate with chilli’s in it to. I like the odd little moments when ou are thinking you haven’t spoken to ‘X’ for far too long and they call you just as you reach for the phone.

I like watching movies with friends and I like the feel of the cat sleeping against my feet.I like fresh flowers and I adore the smell of jasmine and honeysuckle. I like old stone buildings, ponds and streams. I like frogs and toads and newts and snakes. I do not like spiders. I like that the cats are fearless spider killers.

I like when people surprise me, in little ways.

I like when i’m in the gym or kickboxing and the rest of the world drops away while I focus and my mind goes quiet for a while.

I like the sound of purring, the sound of water and I like Jazz. Especially with trumpets.

About Aunty Fox

'Fox Spirit is the crazy young aunt who dances in the rain and conjures fantastic worlds out of cardboard boxes, loo rolls and sellotape'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Adele Wearing aime….

  1. Vic says:

    Tiny moments of perfect in an imperfect world. Would it be worth living without the smell of freshly baked cookies wafting through the house? πŸ™‚

    Personal favourite this week: lying in the heather on the coastal path, eyes closed, feeling the sun on my face and listening to the waves. Bliss!

  2. kimber says:

    “Amelie” is the movie I watch when I feel particularly blue. It never fails to cheer me. I love your list, I am intrigued by Mousecake, and I also love the smell of creosote — it reminds me of spending time at docks when I was little, peering down the pilons and admiring the orange starfish in the green waters.

    May your day be a happy one!

  3. Marguerite says:

    The smell of rain on hot concrete, just when it starts. There’s something about that particular smell that’s … freeing, intoxicating, arresting. It grabs my attention and makes me slow down and take a deep breath. πŸ™‚

    And really, what isn’t better with chiles in it?! πŸ™‚ Okay maybe preserves. Then I remember jalapeno jelly exists, so nope – not even that!

  4. Adele says:

    thanks for sharing your likes guys. πŸ™‚

  5. mrwriteon says:

    Freshly-mown grass, the sound of a cello playing Elgar, and any piece of music that makes me misty with nostalgia.

Leave a Reply

