The simple pleasure of a pond

view from the kitchen door

I’ve mentioned it before, in terms of burying people under it, but this long weekend I decided my mission was to tidy up the garden and finish fitting the pond.

Yesterday I mowed the lawn. It had it’s first cut a  month of so ago. I mow every two weeks, weather permitting and do two cuts each time. It’s a small garden so doing it once a fortnight and cutting twice makes it a fun, easy, not too long job. I’ve never really done the whole garden thing before, it came under ‘jobs boyfriend/husband agreed to do but never did properly’ in the past. I’m now baffled as to how they all made it look such hard work.

from the other side

Then I weeded the main bed. I should explain that the beds are basically small patches I once attempted to plant in a fit of energy but have not maintained. So much weeding was required, a couple of things rearranged and al of it watered. So far so good.

Today I headed to homebase fairly early for a bag of top soil, some tiny ferns, a bag of sand (which I didn’t let a nice young man help me with because i’m stubborn and an idiot) and a hacksaw (whole other things I plan on doing later) and a yard brush. I then wandered down to the canal to collect an eco system.

Canal, less than 5 mins from the door.

A couple of hours of work in the garden and not only is the main bed weeded and the grass cut, but the pond is in and full and edged by half dead lemon thyme and some ferns, the shrubs down the side of the house trimmed, and the patio swept. I am well pleased. It’s not a wonderful cottage garden yet, but I shall make mum bring plants when she visits and we will get there.

The next things for me are to sort out (weed, dig over, re plant) the other two beds, get

tiny pond gives me happies

some plants for in the pond itself and get a couple of decent flowering shrubs that don’t mind badly drained soil and a lot of shade for the back corner.

On the grounds that used coffee grinds are good for the garden mine are now going into a margerine tub to be poured onto the soil around the plants. Great excuse for more real coffee in my life. Hooray.

Overall I have no knowledge, no skill and no previous interest in gardening. I’m not entirely sure where this sudden pleasure in it as come from, maybe it’s my age. As inept as my attempts are I am really enjoying it an finding it extremely satisfying. One of these days my garden will be full of colour and fragrance and bees and butterfly’s. Am determined now and we know how that works.

About Aunty Fox

'Fox Spirit is the crazy young aunt who dances in the rain and conjures fantastic worlds out of cardboard boxes, loo rolls and sellotape'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The simple pleasure of a pond

  1. Adele says:

    Oh and the skull is Erik, i’ve had him about 14 years, a tynemouth flea market purchase. Yorick went to live with a friend a couple of years ago. The same friend who supplied the alarming squatting gnome as a housewarming gift.

  2. Marguerite says:

    Looking AWESOME!!! You’ll have a great view from the punching bag. 🙂

  3. Adele says:

    yep and mum’s got loads of ground cover stuff that is really fragrant for the bed along the garage wall. It’s going to rock!

Leave a Reply

