These Days….

… on the side of #shittythings

I feel like crap. I’ve spent the last two days feeling, sort of, hungover. Which is nuts because I don’t drink so i’ve gotta assume it’s a buggy thing. Grr, Argh. Hate it. Will go to training tonight, for Kickboxing, will give Judo a miss, the last thing I need right now is that kind of battering.

Then I got home on Sunday to a letter addressed to my ex lodger from magistrates court. I have letters to both the court and the debt collection agency ready to go off tomorrow pointing out he was only here for a month and I have no idea where he is now.

The worst by a long way though, and this really was a kick in the gut. My brother now has the dubious honour of being the youngest person in his region to develop Emphysema. If he never smokes again he might, if he’s very lucky, live to 70. I know that’s still a decent run, but overnight my brother has gone from possibly dying eventually because so far immortality seems unlikely, to having a deadline, in the worst possible way. I could kick him. We know in this family smoking = dying of smoking related diseases. At any rate, it was a shock and i’m still processing it. Because he’s an outdoorsy guy whose work is very physical it’s going to have a significant impact on his life long before it kills him.

Right now, I want to hurt people.

On the #thingstofeelhappyabout side:

Aunty Margaret had a fantastic totally not 70th birthday do. It was a lovely hotel and a great do. Lovely to be together with all my family again, twice in two months, which is pretty good going for us these days.

I’m training tonight. I need to punch and kick and Monday’s are usually tough. Also, I got a little bit of an almost black eye in sparring on Thursday, which was kinda cool. Not as flashy as the bruise on my knee but still.

My cupcakes are good, they came out well, the icing is fine and i’m taking them to work tomorrow.  They are strawberry, orange and chocolate.

About Aunty Fox

'Fox Spirit is the crazy young aunt who dances in the rain and conjures fantastic worlds out of cardboard boxes, loo rolls and sellotape'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to These Days….

  1. Marguerite says:

    I’m so sorry about your brother. Glad they caught it early, though – maybe if he quits smoking it’ll make a better improvement than they think. I’ll send good thoughts to both of you.

    And bruises are cool. #tothepain!

  2. Adele says:

    thanks, sadly it doesn’t get better, just worse more slowly if he quits. Piers and I have always been close.

  3. *BIG HUG*

    that is all…

  4. choochoo says:

    I’m sorry your brother’s ill. Think of it this way, though: by todays standars, he has that deadline. But by the time he’s approaching 70, they might very well have come up with a way to fix that. Medical science is moving real fast. This isn’t necessarily a deadline at all.

    Hugs to you, karate-kiddo

  5. Adele says:

    thanks guys, just trying to get my head round it. I mean he’s a biker so it’s not like impending death hasn’t always been a worry, but this is more real.

  6. mrwriteon says:

    So sorry to read about your brother. Quitting smoking is the obvious and with a good lifestyle check he could live a long time.

  7. Adele says:

    thanks pet. He better live a long time or i’m going in after him and giving him some serious shit!

Leave a Reply

