It’s a simple equation…

This time last year with Mark Charan Newton

I had an extremely pleasant start to what I’d anticipated being a difficult day,
yesterday. I was walking to the gym when a woman stopped me in the street to tell me
she’d been a member of my gym when I first started and she wanted to let me know
she thought the weight loss I’ve achieved is incredible. So that was rather lovely.
Then my presentation went much better than anticipated and finally the number of
actual forced redundancies we are facing is much smaller than we expected, due to
voluntary and such like.

Anyway, it had me reflecting on the journey I’ve made physically. People are
surprised by the amount of working out I do now, it seems a lot, but I’ve built up to it

about a month ago

over nearly a year.

In June (?) 2010 I went to Harrogate for the Crime festival. I was already very aware
of how badly my marriage had disintegrated and although I wasn’t sure I was going
to give it up completely it was looking more likely. I also realised, if I was ever
going to sort my self out, I had to start then. In July I asked the Wizard (awesome
hypnotherapist) to help me address my weight issues. After a couple of sessions, mid
July, I found myself in the gym signing the paperwork. I hadn’t consciously made a
decision to do that specifically, it just sort of happened without thinking. The best way
perhaps.

I started the next day. I went in every week day morning and either swam for 20
minutes of did the gym for 20 minutes. To start with I was just walking for 10 minutes
on the treadmill and doing ten minutes on the cross trainer and a couple of weights
sets. I had already started huffing and puffing my way through the mile and a half
walk from where I used to get the bus.

Starting at the gym changed how I ate. I started to crave protein in the mornings,
which then reduced my appetite the rest of the day. I was finally in control of my
intake and it felt glorious. I was still fat, obese, but all the time getting a little less so,
a little fitter.

After a while I started doing the gym and swimming every day, then I started walking
back to my car as well. Gradually as my fitness built and the weight came off I built
up, spending longer, working harder, burning more. Then in December I started
looking for something more. I found kickboxing. I did it once a week and it was
hard. In Jan I added Judo and Jiu Jitsu. Also once a week, also hard. Then recently
I decided I wanted to compete in kickboxing, so I’ve dropped the others and am
focussed on that for now, but I go five days a week, training a total of 8 hours, on top
of the four hours a week in the gym (I now take one day off) and walking three miles
a day five days a week.

I have had to start eating a little more, you can’t work out this much on one protein
bar and some tuna. The weightloss has slowed a little as a result, but at the end of
the day I’m no longer fat. I’d like to shift a little more, but I’m size 14 UK, my
measurements are 39” 33” 39” so I’m looking pretty good. I’m feeling amazing. I am
so much fitter, lighter and as per the mantra that has got me through the wall every
time, ‘better, faster, stronger’.

Of course, if anyone complains to me about their weight now, I don’t think I shall be able to resist pointing out, that if they start right away, do it the old fashioned way
(move more, eat less) then they too can lose a whole Calista Flockhart in a year. As of
today it’s 101lbs lost. I’m feeling pretty pleased with myself. Mostly though, I’m just
feeling like me, looking forward to life and hopeful, optimistic about the future.

I’ve also had some great advice for upping the effectiveness of my routine and diet without spending hours more in the gym or starving myself so welcome to phase three people. I will be doing chin ups by Christmas.

About Aunty Fox

'Fox Spirit is the crazy young aunt who dances in the rain and conjures fantastic worlds out of cardboard boxes, loo rolls and sellotape'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to It’s a simple equation…

  1. Cate Gardner says:

    You are definitely an inspiration, Adele. And yeah, start today sounds like a plan.

  2. Adele says:

    Thanks Cate, I still find it strange being accused of being an inspiration, but I am proud of myself and i hugely appreciate all the support ive received from everyone throughout! 🙂

  3. Steve says:

    I think you’re an evil twin who’s done away with the real Adele. 🙂

    Seriously, though. You’ve done brilliantly well and should be well proud of yourself.

  4. Adele says:

    haha yup, that’s it. 🙂

  5. Neil Ford says:

    You are most definitely an inspiration. My sister has dropped 4st thanks to weight watchers and another friend 5.5st thanks to slimming world. Between the three of you I have no excuse not to try now.

    BTW – you look absolutely freaking fabulous! Not sure when I’ll next see you, but you are in for one heck of a big hug!

    – Neil. xx

  6. Adele says:

    lol, thanks Neil and you know I never say no to hugs. 🙂

  7. kimber says:

    I applaud you – amazing! You’ve inspired me to get off the computer immediately and go for a walk. 🙂

  8. Pandoraperoxide says:

    I am so amazingly proud of you. Just remember when you say “Of course, if anyone complains to me about their weight now, I don’t think I shall be able to resist pointing out, that if they start right away, do it the old fashioned way……” where you were once and how hard it seemed before you had help from the wizard how you would have felt had someone said the same to you. I love you; you ROCK,, you ARE an inspiration and you have worked so hard at this it’s incredible. Xxx

  9. Adele says:

    Thanks guys, Yay Wolfgrrrl and yes Anna, but I will also remember how many people said ‘have you tried just eating less’ to me. ;p

  10. Keith says:

    Wow! Well done you!
    You’ll wear a name badge if at HGate this year, right? Won’t recognise you otherwise.
    Makes me realise I have a lot of work to do myself – although I fear this old duffer may have left things too late – D’oh!

  11. Adele says:

    lol, yes Keith, just so long as it doesn’t make my bum lok big I shall wear a name badge. ;p

  12. Congratulations – really impressive!

  13. K.C. Woolf says:

    That’s a fantastic result! I was there a couple of years ago and I’m still doing well, feeling better and happier than ever.

    So, for the days when it’s not going so well: it’s all worth it, and it’s definitely possible to keep the weight off and still lead a great quality life.

    Congratulations on what you’ve done / you’re doing. You look amazing – and probably feel amazing too. Welcome to phase three! 🙂

  14. Vic says:

    You look amazing, and you sound really positive and driven. Attitude is everything!

    Oh, and welcome to the “grumpy if I don’t get my exercise” club 😉

  15. Adele says:

    Thanks all and yeah, I get very grumpy if I don’t exercise. Friday is my recovery day so I will be a grump all tomorrow. ;p

Leave a Reply

