Spokes

It’s been a week or so and you are due an update. Friday was the Phoenix Ride, so my job was to spend several hours in a high vis vest standing in the road holding up traffic so small children could get across on their bikes. Standing with your back to a queue of ring road traffic that mostly has no idea what the hold up is can be a little nerve wracking, but the kids seemed to have enjoyed themselves and the event drew loads more people than last year.

A few days earlier, the team went mountain biking on a local dirt track. A number of us fell off and since it was Tuesday and I had three hours of training in the evening I bottled out of doing the bigger course in full. The teacher didn’t seem to understand the concept of, the only time I ever ride a bike is when we do these things for work, I am not a cyclists and I have a competition in a couple of weeks so no fucking way am I getting injured and sitting out training. In the end to get her to back off I told her i’d do the full course only if she came kickboxing. The girls pointed out I had basically called her out for a fight, but I refuse to feel bad about it, she was pushy and she knew I had other priorities. Amy was spectacular both in the getting some serious air under her tyres and in her awesome injuries. The girl is fearless.

Other than that, kickboxing is going well, I am getting stronger, more flexible, more aggressive, and at the gym now work the bag with ankle weights and ripcords to improve my speed.

Those following my twitter or facebook will by now have picked up that Paul Jessup and I no longer have a nice neat professional relationship and someone else will have to take responsibility for any further reviews or appearances on Un:Bound since I have been walking around for the last week or so grinning like a total doofus and getting very little sleep due to the difference between EST & GMT. I’m happier than I can ever remember being, i’m target weight, (first target), i’m competing in tournaments, i’m enjoying my home and garden, I could do with getting my head back into the books, the last year or so i’ve read so little, but that will fix itself soon, it always does, I have a summer of events and fun stuff with fantastic people and I have a guy who can make me grin from ear to ear from three and a half thousand miles away.

All in all life is sweet. A little frustrating at times, but sweet.

About Aunty Fox

'Fox Spirit is the crazy young aunt who dances in the rain and conjures fantastic worlds out of cardboard boxes, loo rolls and sellotape'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Spokes

  1. Chloe Yates says:

    Aww, you made me do a ๐Ÿ™‚ xx

  2. Adele says:

    cheers hun. I’ve not stopped smiling for days. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Paul Jessup says:

    I was wondering when our happy relationship was going to make it to your blog ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Caroline says:

    *points and giggles*
    You got boy-grin!

    Aww!

  5. Adele says:

    lol, yeah thanks for that. ;p

Leave a Reply

