So… Is that a tattoo?

Visited the parentals for the weekend and it was great. It’s always nice, slow down for a couple of days, chatting, coffee, Bergerac. Mum and I found the most perfect dress for the Gollancz party, just need the right shoes now (am taking your dress code seriously Jon) and we filled my car boot with plants from her garden to brighten up mine, including something called bears britches, which will look amazing next year. She passed on some of her clothes and a handbag i’ve craved since she bought it.

I made cookies, demonstrating I do have some uses.

Dad and I looked at old photos from when they first looked at the place. Can’t believe how different it all looks. I mean I knew, but it was still a shock seeing it. Dad also gave me his drill. Some of my earliest memories are dad passing me a hammer and nails and a block of wood and telling me not to split the wood. My brother usually manages to nab the tools but I have the black and decker workmate and now he’s bought himself a shiny new drill treat just so I could have his old one. I’d rather have his old one than a shiny new one. I have confidence in a drill that had it’s chuck replaced by my Dad. Yes I am a total girl about some things.

Tomorrow I am going to have a very thorough cleaning session and get the new stuff planted. My garden is coming on, almost looks like a garden. Oh and for those of you that grumble about

the cat fur, I bought a lint roller so I can defluff you on exit, does that sound vaguely rude?

Oh and after carefully angling in the changing rooms so mum couldn’t see my back, I was caught out in the kitchen when she decided to check the label in my dress for the size. Dammit. So now she knows. There was a tense moment but she’s surprisingly cool with it. She says she’d have been cross if it was naff and tacky, but it’s easy to hide, pretty text and a good line. She understands my reasoning which helps. Not the first time i’ve underestimated her, still not sure she’ll tell dad and suspect it will be one of those things that just doesn’t really get discussed now, but still, it’s a relief.

Anyway, the pic here is of my parents place in the snow over Christmas, it’s so peaceful, you can see right across Exmoor on a clear day.

About Aunty Fox

'Fox Spirit is the crazy young aunt who dances in the rain and conjures fantastic worlds out of cardboard boxes, loo rolls and sellotape'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to So… Is that a tattoo?

  1. Kim says:

    When I first showed my parents my tattoo, there was a lot of frowns and grumbles, but I hadn’t lived at home for ten years so they couldn’t exactly ground me. Now that I’m considering a second, my mom just shrugs and admits she’s surprised I took so long. šŸ™‚

  2. Adele says:

    I’m not sure if a second one would be pushing my luck, but i’m relieved she didn’t freak.

  3. Marguerite says:

    Told ya it wouldn’t be a big deal. šŸ™‚

  4. Adele says:

    yeah, she was really pretty cool about it.

Leave a Reply

