Only going forward, coz we can’t find reverse.

My dad emailed me the other day. He’s obviously concerned. Mark moved out last November, since then i’ve had one abortive date, a brief and equally abortive internet flirtation and that’s pretty much been my foray back into the singles world. So Dad had an idea.

He has told me to go and find short courses, he might even pay for them, so I can meet new like minded people. It’s incredibly sweet of him, but there are one or two problems.

At present I work full time, kickbox up to five days a week, see a little of my friends, run a review site, am trying to start my own business and as of yesterday i’m also going back to finish my certificate in traffic engineering. I also have to fit in a new short course every six months? So when exactly will I date even if I do meet someone? ‘I can maybe squeeze you in for half an hour a week on tuesday around lunch time?’ *snigger*

The other thing that could be tricky is the subjects. So far I am trying to find short courses in journalism (this go the ok) and Latin. Umm, ‘yeah’ says Dad ‘because people always walk around talking Latin’ says Dad. ‘Well actually, I do have this one friend…’ (yes VC i mean you). I tried to explain that having not paid much attention when I did it at school i’d quite like to brush up on some of my classical education, why not? Pointless, but fun.  I think Mum might stick up for me on that one.

It’s going to be a busy time, because there is no way in hell i’m cutting back on the kickboxing. Having accepted the tattoo I think it’s too much to expect them to attend a tournament, but maybe one day.

Love my parents, they are awesome. Will they also stump up for the speed I need for my new schedule and the rehab for when i’m done?

About Aunty Fox

'Fox Spirit is the crazy young aunt who dances in the rain and conjures fantastic worlds out of cardboard boxes, loo rolls and sellotape'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Only going forward, coz we can’t find reverse.

  1. Pandoraperoxide says:

    Does that mean we’re on a date
    On Monday!? Hurrah!!

  2. adele says:

    yes, definitely counts as dating. I may even stoop to lewd comments about your tongue stud. ;p

  3. kimber says:

    I took Latin in university — it was an intensive immersion course, so we would saunter around campus and chat with each other in Latin as practice and to get to know each other better. For a dead language, it was a helluva lot of fun. 🙂 Besides, if you take courses you’re actually interested in, you’ll meet people who are ALSO interested in the same topic…. bonus!

Leave a Reply

