File Under: Things I learned from cartoons.

Life is pretty much on track, all my projects, work, Un:Bound, Exlineal, Video Editions, Kickboxing, me, all doing well, flying along, feet never touching the ground. It’s only now, in my post apocalyptic… ok post divorce, but there were times it was hard to tell the difference, life that the lessons I learned from the cartoons of my childhood really make sense.

For starters, all this activity, the frenzy, the not being able to slow down?  Have you never watched Road Runner? The thing I learned from Wile E Coyote, it’s only when you slow down or look down that you fall, so keep running fast and looking ahead and it won’t matter if you aren’t on solid ground.

My ground is probably more solid than I give it credit for now, but it’s still early days and i’m not quite ready to take the risk of checking. 

From my old favourite Droopy came the lesson that if you really want something, best to go where you think it’s going to end up and let it catch up to you. Trying to live more like that now, what’s the end goal? Instead of always chasing it i’m trying to position myself so it comes to me. Not always an easy trick, but getting there.

The world is full of sneaks and cheats and dirty tricks, arm yourself and be ready – Wacky Races.

A small group of people can achieve almost anything if they are the right people, the right friends (one for all and all for one muskahounds are always ready) yup, Dogtanian. 

Mr Benn preceeded Trinny and Suzannah and the fabulous Gok in teaching us that clothes can tell everyone, including you,who you are being today. 

And most important in some ways to me

 over the last year and a half, if you are really lucky, when you are lost and broken you will find your own calm, somewhat zen,  saggy old cloth cat to put you back together and tell you stories (we will find it, we will bind it, we will stick it with glue glue glue)- Bagpuss. Not that I am suggesting any of my friends are frayed at the seems.

I’m sure there are more, but these are the ones on my mind at the moment and really i’m not sure there was anything to be learned from Thundercats except how much fun shouting ‘Thundercats Ho’ can be.

About Aunty Fox

'Fox Spirit is the crazy young aunt who dances in the rain and conjures fantastic worlds out of cardboard boxes, loo rolls and sellotape'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to File Under: Things I learned from cartoons.

  1. Marguerite says:

    Oh I don’t know, I certainly feel frayed at the seems some days. But it doesn’t appear to make much difference. 🙂
    *hug* You’re doing FANTASTIC, and yes – just keep running, don’t look down! 🙂

  2. Adele says:

    that’s the plan, don’t look down, won’t fall.

  3. Caroline says:

    From Thundercats: “Schnarf, Schnarf!” is an excellent reponse to most situations.

    (Yes, I know his name was Snarf, but I always thought he had a slight Yiddish accent)

  4. mrwriteon says:

    You are doing fine, my lovely friend. I like your attitude and your philosophy, and will suggest you are absolutely right.

  5. adele says:

    Caroline, very true. 🙂
    Ian, thank you appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

