TM Training Day 1

Tomorrow I am back at work and the gym and the usual humdrum of life. That being the case I decided today was the perfect day, having de-cobwebbed at kickboxing last night, to start my tough mudder training.

I trying to ignore that my cold has settled firmly on my chest with a cough that will leave me feeling rough and disrupt my sleep for at least another week. I got up at 7:30, had some coffee and breakfast and set out for a run.

Ok it was more of a jog, i’m not a natural runner and while I managed to extend my legs and pick up the pace at times, mostly it was a pretty steady jog. Still I completed my first ever mile of road running, without slowing to a walk at any point and successfully negotiated the tricky art of hopping onto the verge and running on the oddly springy grass while traffic passed. I then trudged back the mile home.

Things I have learned so far:

Time goes faster on the road than on the treadmill.
A chesty cough may not trouble you when you are running but you will hack and wheeze the second you notice it’s actually cold out.
People look at you funny if you head out in MMA shorts and a hoodie at 8:30  am.
I have a long way to go before the 12 mile slog over obstacles in May

But we know how I love a challenge right?

About Aunty Fox

'Fox Spirit is the crazy young aunt who dances in the rain and conjures fantastic worlds out of cardboard boxes, loo rolls and sellotape'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to TM Training Day 1

  1. You rock! And you’re right about the chest cold, mind STILL won’t go away. But no cold drugs today, and WiiFit boxing, so definite improvement!

Leave a Reply

