would you buy this book?

A number of people have suggested that having dropped 8 stone in 18 months I should write a book.

there are sooo many reasons I have said no, ranging from, ‘it’s not like i’m the only person to manage it’ and ‘it’s not so much a diet system as desperation’ to ‘i can’t afford a ghost writer anyway’

The main one though is that no one would buy a very short diet book called

‘put that cake down and get off your fat arse’.

It’s true. Fat people want getting rid of the weight to be easy. They want group sessions, point calculated biscuits and miracle drugs to do all the work for them. I’m no different. I tried every extreme diet, the Cabbage Soup diet, the Atkins diet, Weight Watchers, Slimming World, I did over the counter drugs, prescribed by the doctor (and now removed from the market because they are dangerous) drugs, bought off the internet drugs. I tried everything and nothing worked until… you got it, I put the cake down and got off my fat arse.

It wasn’t easy. It will never be easy to control and maintain my weight, I was lucky in that during the divorce I was able to turn working out into an escape, rather than the misery i’d always seen it as before. I also tried lots of different sports before settling on kickboxing as the one for me.

The fact is though, no one would buy my book, it would be blunt and honest and would offer no promise to miraculously turn you into Angelina Jolie without you actually changing your life.  So unless there is a sudden appetite among dieters for the truth about weight loss you will not be seeing ‘Put  that cake down and get off your fat arse’ on the shelves.

I may copyright the name though just in case.

About Aunty Fox

'Fox Spirit is the crazy young aunt who dances in the rain and conjures fantastic worlds out of cardboard boxes, loo rolls and sellotape'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to would you buy this book?

  1. Love the slogan, Adele, and you are our poster girl. Seriously. We are not worthy.

  2. Tony Lane says:

    I agree that it would probably be the most useful weight loss book released to date. Unfortunately it will probably not appeal to most of the people who buy those books.

    That said though, would writing that book be for you or for other people? If you need to write it, then write it and worry about readers later.

    You never know if somebody will buy something. Some of the best books I have ever read will only ever have a small readership, but if somebody famous like Richard and Judy picks it up……

  3. Might become my new mantra 🙂

  4. Adele says:

    Anne, you are too kind, i’m really just trying to get my shit together. 🙂

    Tony, i’ve no particular desire to write the book, it’s what the blog is for, but it amused me. ;p

    Geri, my mantra came from the six million dollar man. Stronger Faster Better. (ssh don’t tell but i still eat cake sometimes)

Leave a Reply

