Earning my stripes.

fresh from the fight

My coach commented laughing last night that I never get it my way at the tournaments. He’s right and yesterday was a classic. Straight final against a girl called Stacey. You know someone has plenty of experience when the ref greets them by name and

with obvious recognition.  Stacey fights points, continuous and it turns out, full contact (my face and I were not surprised by this on refelction). Ah well, into the breach. By the time I finished the first round I was struggling to breath through my nose, was wheezing, have no doubt my face was red and my eyes were watering. Straight final, into round two. I will confess 30 seconds before the first round finished we broke and restarted and I had just enough time to think, ‘I have to go another minute and a half with this girl, i’m dead meat, fuck it’.I did what I was told, move forward, keep the pressure on.

no need for eyeshadow

Watching it back she was never out of control but if all I could do was make her work a bit harder then fine, that’s what i’ll do.  I will be working on speed and moving more so i’m less of an easy target over the next few weeks to the May event.

I probably enjoyed it too much, it’s exhilarating, painful as hell and kinda frustrating

but still, walking away with blood on my face and various purple marks coming up I felt, as I always do, invincible.Sometimes the only thing that matters is you fought as hard as you could.

 

On an entirely different note, I am also apparently going to be the new face of Leicester Central Library, which is exciting. I had fun on the day with three others being pictures as users for a new marketing campaign for libraries. I believe I am to be on a big 6 sheet advert in the Haymarket shopping centre soon. The picture for that was a little different from the fight pics. ;p

All told I am very happy. Life is busy and that’s how I like it.

About Aunty Fox

'Fox Spirit is the crazy young aunt who dances in the rain and conjures fantastic worlds out of cardboard boxes, loo rolls and sellotape'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Earning my stripes.

  1. Geraldine says:

    Congrats on being the new face of the library! Lovely pic of you 🙂

  2. Adele says:

    Thanks hun. 🙂

  3. Marguerite says:

    You look happy in BOTH pictures. Great job, hun!

Leave a Reply

