‘I’m not the girl I used to be’

I realised this week i’d been in this house 4 years.

When I moved in I was size 20, engaged, 30 years old, a new driver, a keen reader with no other hobbies. I went on steam trains and to the pub because my fiance wanted to and never fought to do the things that I wanted. I didn’t really know what I wanted. I’m not sure I knew who I was. Oh and I kept rats and had never been to a book event.

4 years on i’m size 14, divorced, 34 years old, a keen reader (oh look some things don’t change), a kickboxer, a blogger, an apocalypse girl, I deliver alt.fiction, I go to three or four events a year. I am not interested in trains, I go to pubs rarely, for food and company. I have a tattoo. I know who I am, I know what I want, I am not the girl I was 4 years ago. I am stronger, more capable, more sure.

Oddly, I am perhaps the girl I was as a child, before I hit my teens, or I am at least more who she thought she was going to be.

I am happier with my life than I have ever been. I am happier with the people in it too.

About Aunty Fox

'Fox Spirit is the crazy young aunt who dances in the rain and conjures fantastic worlds out of cardboard boxes, loo rolls and sellotape'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

