Wanted: Ming in need of a Mongo to rule

It’s a bit on a newsy update this one:

Well the first book from my new venture Fox Spirit is now for sale on Amazon. It’s a crime thriller called ‘Requiem in E Sharp’ by Joan De La Haye and it’s really very good.

Sparring today was intense. With only three people on each set of mats it was an hour long constant round robin. Gareth and Wayne really made me work too, fortunately my fitness is improving undeniably. I’m not getting that energy lull a minute into the minute and a half round till right towards the end of the hour now and my legs didn’t notice how sore and tired they were till after I moved the lawn. Once I relaxed though… Got a bit of a headache but given some of the shots I took it’s hardly surprising and i’ll be fine in the morning. I love kickboxing. Took a hell of a shot to the hip and may have gone a little hulk, but Gareth covered up and let me get it out of my system, if only I fought that hard all the time!

Other stuff i’ve been up to… A week ago I went to see Carol Leeming perform at Curve, she was amazing. Then I went to London and visited my nephew as well as hanging out with some of the genre gang at Forbidden Planet for the small press expo. That was fantastic and the paperback of Hauntings was launched (I wrote the introduction). It’s very odd being asked to sign books when you don’t actually write really. Fab though, loved it!

This week I went to Graham Joyce’s party for his new book about the extremely dangerous fairy folk ‘Some Kind of Fairy Tale’ and that was really lovely. I was delighted to be asked and it was nice to catch up with friends and also to meet the wonderful Bali Rai.

Since it’s been a literary couple of weeks I also want to mention Katy & Cara, a really interesting blog /fiction project that i’m being kept very entertained by. http://katyandcara.wordpress.com/

I read the book club book this time and it was Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter. It was entertaining and did some things very well but it’s not something i’d re read. I was pleased to see Steve Mosby won a Dagger this year though, he’s not only a thoroughly lovely chap but an excellent crime writer.

It also appears I may have company in the house for a couple of weeks. The lovely Kat is probably coming to stay while she sorts out the move to London in order to rescue her relationship with her parents. lol. Moving back home is never easy. For those of you who remember The Lodger, I promise Kat won’t end up under the pond, it’s a couple of weeks at most and she’s a friend and I think we will manage.  Also, i’m pretty sure Kat will respect my need for her not to use my favourite mug and to be booted onto the other sofa while i’m home. She may of course realise her parents weren’t so bad really. ;p Wish us luck folks and if you are going to Harrogate you can check in with us there.

About Aunty Fox

'Fox Spirit is the crazy young aunt who dances in the rain and conjures fantastic worlds out of cardboard boxes, loo rolls and sellotape'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wanted: Ming in need of a Mongo to rule

  1. katelaity says:

    I’m so looking forward to seeing you at Harrogate 🙂

  2. Adele says:

    It’s going to be LEGEN…DARY!

Leave a Reply

