Getting Started

The last couple of months have been a series of fairly haphazard changes. Increasing the gym routine, making sure I get to as many kickboxing sessions as possible and trying to improve my eating. About halfway through I took some advice on general principles of nutrition from Shredded Personal Training. Chris, will be working more closely with me soon, but I wanted to go through what I’ve been doing so far.

DSC_0396

Diet

I’ve gradually been phasing out processed food and eating fresh. The fundamental principle was half your food should be greens, a quarter carbs, a quarter protein. I’m not quite fully balanced yet but getting close with it this week. This has meant I’ve needed to do a lot of pre prep at the weekends

DSC_0411

But two or three hours of Sunday afternoon cooking mayhem means I eat well all week with minimum time and effort. This makes a huge difference given I come in, eat, change and go back out to KB regularly.

I’ve been treating the last couple of months as ‘training for training’. Start building good habits, get into routines, then when I have a hard disciplined diet and programme it’ll be a step change not a total shock to the system.

I know I can’t totally change the way I eat overnight, I won’t stick to it for more than three days if it’s too much change at once. Equally I know I can’t just occasionally have milk chocolate. I have to go cold turkey on sweets and crisps.

This time is going to be different. This time it is the right, healthy changes to make this a way of life. This time it will stick. Right? Right!

About Aunty Fox

'Fox Spirit is the crazy young aunt who dances in the rain and conjures fantastic worlds out of cardboard boxes, loo rolls and sellotape'
This entry was posted in Nutrition, Training and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

