Hump Day Training

Wednesday, the hump of the week. In training terms one of the quieter ones. This morning I was supposed to swim for 20 mins before work but given my tiredness on Tuesday hit ‘almost coming off the road and falling asleep at traffic lights’ status, I figured the extra half hour in bed might help. It did. A lot.

So I still had my mile and a half walk from the car to work and back again, Pilates at lunch time, where I’m definitely finally seeing improvement and Squad training tonight. Squad training is for the EFK fight squad, of which I am a member. Tonight was awesome. An hour of solid light con (my preference) sparring, but light. Really steady, really light, really fun and surprisingly hard work. You can wring me out.

I feel awesome. I love the slightly more chilled approach to sparring, really being able to try stuff, not worrying about protecting against contact and injury so much as just working on evasion and counters. I was flicking out double kicks which I never normally do and even Danny said I probably landed more shots tonight than I have in the last two years rolled together. This of course is all excellent for training the brain so eventually when you are doing it at full speed and impact it comes more naturally and faster. Meaning fewer black eyes and more victories. I like winning. I’d like to do some of that at competitions.

So all in all a good successful day.

fighter

About Aunty Fox

'Fox Spirit is the crazy young aunt who dances in the rain and conjures fantastic worlds out of cardboard boxes, loo rolls and sellotape'
This entry was posted in Training and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

