Matters of the Flesh

I’ve been thinking about a few things lately, mostly body stuff. I’m the happiest I’ve ever been with mine although I’ve been smaller. I feel the strongest and fittest I’ve felt in many long years and while I’m very much a work in progress it’s a good feeling. I pin stuff on my kickboxing board for inspiration, Fitspo stuff I guess (be fit, tis good, rarr strong is sexy). When I’m browsing I see thinspiration (don’t eat, be skinny it’ll make you prettier) and anti fitspo (don’t be strong you’ll look like a man, stop telling me what to do). I see ‘real women have curves’ (I’m overweight and sexy  and skinny bitches are sick man) and every over variation. It lead me to posting this on facebook.

Women put an awful lot of time and energy into being critical of other womens bodies I sometimes think we’d make more ground in asking for men to respect our bodies if we showed a little more kindness and respect to each other. *warning this status contains sweeping generalisations*

And the conversation whilst grown up and sensible brought out some of the old arguments about what body shape is better/healthier etc.

inspo

To which I said this

I’m not getting into the whole what body is best.thing, you get one do something with it that brings you pleasure and love it. But if we could stop tearing each others bodies down that would be real progress.

That’s really my point. You have the body you have. You only get the one and you have to live in it your whole life. Stop fighting it, stop hating it, stop tearing it down. Have fun with it, do things that make you happy with it. For me that’s training and lifting and watching it gradually reshape and sculpt, it’s also inking it. The point is if you want to be fit, or thin or curvy be it, make that choice for yourself and embrace your body and do me a favour, let other women do the same for themselves.

his divisiveness, it hurts all of us, it undermines all of us.

About Aunty Fox

'Fox Spirit is the crazy young aunt who dances in the rain and conjures fantastic worlds out of cardboard boxes, loo rolls and sellotape'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

