The thing with tomorrow…

…is that it’s a promise.

To quote Benjamin Bunny ‘tomorrow is another day’. In fact it is quite literally the first day of the rest of your life.

What that means is every night you go to bed and you have the promise of another chance. A chance to do things differently, better, to be happier. Oh it’s not always easy, but it’s always there.

So after a couple of weeks of work and tiredness glitching my training, after a week of being ill and unable to eat for days let alone work out, I am now much better and tomorrow I get back on it. Tomorrow I get to go back into the routine, I get to work on the project of me. It’s a serious project. I am so far already from the fat, unfit, nervous woman whose husband had just moved out who walked into Harborough Leisure centre three years ago this month. I’m stronger in every possible way. It’s still a work in progress.

tomorrow

I’m part way, I lift, I compete, I train, I have tattoos, I wouldn’t have been sure I was brave enough for that three years ago. In another three years I want to be able to tell you I’m not just an amateur kickboxer, but that I’m a fighter that both my coaches can be proud to put on the mats/in the ring/cage. In another three years I want to be supporting the growth of EFK; teaching classes isn’t really my thing but the idea of covering the training room while people work bags and drill with each other totally is. The main thing is being part of something growing, helping other people access the things that bring me such joy that’s something I can be into. In another three years I want to be part of a  growing group of women doing mixed martial arts both in global terms for the sport but also at Shootfighters.

Every tomorrow is getting me closer to where I want to be in three years time.

In the shorter term I’ve booked onto the beginners MMA course at Leicester Shootfighters and the womens intro to martial arts course at Shootfighters and the coaching team training with EFK. So I am not slacking.

Tonight I will take my protein before bed ready to get back onto the full training and nutrition regime in the morning. I see no point wasting even a single tomorrow if I don’t have to.

ask

About Aunty Fox

'Fox Spirit is the crazy young aunt who dances in the rain and conjures fantastic worlds out of cardboard boxes, loo rolls and sellotape'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

