Shenanigans!

It’s that time again. People are reviewing the year that is passing and making resolutions for the next one. I am mostly trying to recharge my batteries and looking on in a mix of horror and excitement at the year ahead.

The years since my separation (later to become divorce) have been categorised as ‘The year of the zombie’, ‘The year of trying all the things’, ‘The year of trying to work out what’s next’. That last one was tricky, moving forward with things and trying to decide what I really want to be doing. I disconnected from some things, including my day job, or delivered enough but no more around the place, but I did do a lot of stuff. The day job is a time and energy suck, I upped my training, although never got quite where I want to be with it and obviously Fox Spirit started gaining momentum, but it was all still a little bit hobbyish. It feels a bit as though I’ve spent a year tilting at windmills and never being quite certain why I was doing it. 

Image

This coming year I’m dubbing ‘The year of the Fox’ and it is the year I am running madly at everything. Day job has a lot of deliverables I really want to get into the world in 2014, I need to get my fighting to a new level AND I am moving Fox Spirit forward properly as a business, one with an ambitious publishing schedule. It’s a slightly alarming thought given that by the end of the Christmas period this year, having added too much food and booze the equation I feel  I’m a bit used up, done in and burnt out. I am basically using the remnants of the time off (and a couple of extra days of annual leave) to recover ready to face the year ahead. I’m sleeping a lot. If I’m like that now, what will I be like this time next year if I go at everything as planned.

Image

None the less I don’t think there is any other way for me to approach next year except in fifth gear, with the top down and 80’s hair metal blaring! If I do this right it’s going to be a hell of a ride. No resolutions from me for 2014, just a mad girl jumping off bridges and shouting (to borrow from the Prof) ‘shenanigans!’ as she falls. I hope I get some soft landings.

 Image

About Aunty Fox

'Fox Spirit is the crazy young aunt who dances in the rain and conjures fantastic worlds out of cardboard boxes, loo rolls and sellotape'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shenanigans!

  1. katelaity says:

    Rahr! Focus on momentum. What moves you forward — even if it’s a baby step, it’s still an accomplishment. I keep reminding myself that anyway…

Leave a Reply

